LITRG volunteers

At the beginning of 1998 LITRG called for volunteers to help fulfil our mission and was gratified by the response. The current members of LITRG are set out below. You can find out more about volunteering for LITRG on our ‘becoming a volunteer’ page.

If you are looking for a more ‘hands on’ volunteering experience, directly helping the public with tax queries then you may want to have a look at the TaxAid or Tax Help for Older People websites for their current volunteer opportunities. Responsibilities range from attending helpline sessions or home visits to taking on pro-bono cases.

Barbara Abraham
Former tax partner and Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Tax Advisers

John Andrews
Past President of the Chartered Institute of Taxation and founder of LITRG

Stephen Banyard
Former Director General, Personal Tax, HMRC

Alan Barton
Volunteer adviser at Rickmansworth CAB; formerly Social Policy Officer at Citizens Advice

Leonard Beighton
Former Deputy Chairman, Board of Inland Revenue and Director/trustee of Tax Help

Valerie Boggs
Advice Director, TaxAid

Sara Closs-Davies
Researcher at Bangor University

Larry Darby
Former tax partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers

Andrew Dickson
Solicitor, Chartered Tax Adviser and a qualified member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP).

Nigel Eastaway
Tax Partner at MacIntyre Hudson and author

Anne Fairpo
Current Chair of LITRG; former President, current Council member and Fellow of the CIOT; Judge in the First Tier Tax Tribunal

Andrew Flint
Tax writer with LexisNexis Butterworths

Eile Gibson
Solicitor specialising in corporate tax issues, including SDLT, VAT, PAYE and employment income

Martin Hodgson
Former regional director of the Inland Revenue; past Chair of Tax Help for Older People

Francesca Lagerberg
Former Chair of the Tax Faculty of the ICAEW and the national head of tax for Grant Thornton

Bianca Marsden
Former Head of Technical at the CIOT

Donna McKenney
Tax Help for Older People

Patrick Millard
Former Chief Executive and Director of Tax Help for Older People, continuing to work with Tax Help on educational projects and LITRG on pensioner issues

Iain Mills
Former Operational Taxes Director at Zurich Insurance Company Ltd

Gary Millner
Chief Executive of Tax Help for Older People

Caroline Miskin

Sam Mitha
Former HMRC Deputy Director of Central Policy

Jane Moore
Technical Manager at the Tax Faculty of the ICAEW

Carol Pavely
Former Advice Manager at Tax Help for Older People

Tina Riches
Former Head of Tax at Smith & Williamson and former Director, Technical at the CIOT. Volunteer at TaxAid

Philip Ridgway
Barrister, Temple Tax Chambers

Jonathan Riley
Vice-Chair of LITRG, Head of Tax at Grant Thornton

Anthony Thomas 
Former Chair of LITRG and past President of the Chartered Institute of Taxation and member of the CFE's General Assembly

Clive Tulloch
Chairman of Tax Volunteers

Sally West
Strategy Adviser – leading on policy work around income and poverty policy at Age UK

John Whiting
Policy Director of the Office of Tax Simplification, non-Executive Director at HMRC and former Tax Policy Director at CIOT

Robin Williamson
Office of Tax Simplification, Former Technical Director of LITRG, solicitor and Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Taxation